Tags

AG

Appropriate Grammar – Concert Review – RecordBar – December 6, 2012

The Man in Black at the RecordBar this past Thursday night wasn’t Johnny reincarnate, it was Nick McKenna, the lead singer and guitarist for Appropriate Grammar.  Although I didn’t hear the influence of Johnny Cash on the sound of Appropriate Grammar, after talking with Nick and hearing the band, I was left with the impression that the story driving this band is not dissimilar from Cash’s song, The Man in Black.  If you combine that story with the influences of the Psychedelic Furs and The Clash, I suspect you will find yourself within the realm of Appropriate Grammar.  The band’s set was filled with tasty guitar riffs, walking bass lines and loose harmonies.  Despite their very American home-base (KC), Appropriate Grammar has, to my ear, more of a British sound.  It’s a sound I don’t often hear in the KC scene and I have often wished to hear more of it.  Supporting Nick, Steve Gardels gave a flawless performance on drums, Claire Adams used every fret on her bass and Alex Dunsford riffed a smile onto the face of all in attendance.  I am a fan.  If you appreciate the sounds of Britain, put Appropriate Grammar’s next show on your calendar.  You won’t be disappointed.

Band Link:  http://www.reverbnation.com/appropriategrammar

